Daily Free Books

Cage of Deceit: Reign of Secrets, Book 1

Rating: 4.00 / 5
12 reviews

by Jennifer Anne Davis

A medieval fantasy filled with adventure, intrigue, and romance from The True Reign series author Jennifer Anne Davis. This new series is perfect for fans of Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes, The Remnant Chronicles by Mary E. Pearson, and Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas.Sixteen-year-old Allyssa appears to be the ideal princess of Emperion--she's beautiful, elegant, and refined. She spends her days locked in a suffocating cage, otherwise known as the royal court. But at night, Allyssa uses her secret persona--that of a vigilante--to hunt down criminals and help her people firsthand.Unfortunately, her nightly escapades will have to wait because the citizens of Emperion may need saving from something much bigger than common criminals. War is encroaching on their kingdom and in order to protect her people, Allyssa may have to sacrifice her heart. Forced to entertain an alliance through marriage with a handsome prince from a neighboring kingdom, she finds herself feeling even more stifled than before. To make matters worse, the prince has stuck his nosy squire, Jarvik, to watch her every move. Jarvik is infuriating, bossy and unfortunately, the only person she can turn to when she unveils a heinous plot. Together, the unlikely pair will have to work together to stop an enemy that everyone thought was long gone, one with the power to destroy her family and the people of Emperion. Now the cage Allyssa so longed to break free from might just be the one thing she has to fight to keep intact. In order to save her kingdom, she will have to sacrifice her freedom, her heart, and maybe even her life.

Genre: Teen & Young Adult, Historical Fiction, Literature & Fiction, Science Fiction & Fantasy
Size: 303 pages
Free download for Kindle from 19 August 2019 onward  

Back To Top ^